Easter Sunday Observations

Coffee.  Enjoyed.  I broke my Lenten coffee fast today with a drive-through trip to S’bucks on the way to church.  Coffee is so much better when it’s a treat and not a necessity!

Where to go….  We went to Two Rivers Church today.  2RC is a plant from Fellowship Church, where Amy and I met and spent 8 years together.  More importantly, it’s 7 miles from our house, instead of the 15.5 miles to ______ that we never got accustomed to driving.  We’ve committed to find a church in our community this time.  Riding in the same car with my family to church was sweetness indeed.

The view from the pew.  Best I can figure, this is the first Easter in 10 years that didn’t involve my presence on stage somewhere.  I wonder how long it will be before I can simply attend a service without noticing and analyzing all the technical aspects involved (Nice lighting system, but OMG–are they still using PowerPoint to display song lyrics?, etc., etc.).  I enjoyed not being responsible for anything in a church service other than my own worship.

Serendipity.  While at 2RC we ran into Lance Robinson, who was the pastor at Providence Church and hired me part-time for my first paid worship-leading gig.  It turns out he’s not doing the pastor thing anymore, either.  Lots of amusing “what are you doing here?” back and forth, plus a commitment to meet up for coffee soon.  I didn’t miss the irony that I would run into the person who gave me my start in vocational church work on the Sunday after I left!

True friends.  The entire Davis clan packed up and went to Jim and Cheryl Trotter’s for Easter dinner and egg hunting this afternoon.  The Trotter family’s love for us has only increased in the wake of our exit from _________, and our time together was wonderful.  They’re the best.

3 Responses to “Easter Sunday Observations”


  1. 1 Bryan Mckaig April 8, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Didn’t know which one to comment on, figured the most recent was the best – i’m reading “a generous orthodoxy” right now (by right now, i mean i’m about 1/4 way thru and haven’t touched it in a month and a half). but if he’s rocking your intellectual/spiritual world, i’d like to chat with you ’bout it. i ain’t quite got him figured out.
    and… um, the recent developments. yeah, you should tell me about that too.

  2. 2 Chelle April 12, 2007 at 11:46 am

    So glad to read of a happy easter 🙂

    …Saw Blue Like Jazz “in your bookbag” I must say, it’s a favorite of mine.

  3. 3 Mattchews April 16, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    You my friend, are a special blessing in my life. Thanks for calling just to check in on me. It meant more than I can adequately express vocally or via written communication. You are a mighty warrior for the Kingdom. I’m glad you are also my friend.


Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet….

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Comments

Jason on Reliving, part 2
Jakob Aas Thomas 10t… on The Smartboard
Tina R. Cruz on Reliving, part 2
sally on Reliving, part 2
Tim Jones on Rob Bell, Heaven and Hell
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

