Why I Blog

In the wake of my departure from my staff position at _______, I’ve had a couple of questions about this blog from well-meaning people who love me very much.  The questions themselves take on a variety of forms, but the general gist is this:  Why in the world do you even have a blog?

I appreciate the concern and even the unspoken “this blog is the problem” sentiment (I’ll address that idea in a later post), but in this post I want to simply answer the question of why I blog.  I won’t try to justify my reasons and I won’t engage in a debate about their merits, but I’ll just lay it out there.

Here they are, in no particular order:

  1. I like to write, and I like to be read.  I’d say most everyone who writes publicly has this going on inside his or her head to some degree.
  2. Blogging helps me pay attention.  Of the many sub-routines that run in my consciousness over the course of the day, the one that is looking for blog-worthy material is very significant.  It asks, “What’s the lesson here?  What can be pulled from this experience that will make for a good story or will help someone to see truth?”  It forces me to look for and recognize truth in what comes my way.
  3. Many people for whom I have respect are bloggers, especially church leaders.  Regular blogging appears to be a requirement for the staff at the amazing Granger Community Church (I subscribe to Mark Waltz and Tim Stevens).  Other notable and click-worthy church leaders include Mark Driscoll, Greg Groeschel and Bobby Gruenwald (lifechurch.tv pastors), Perry Noble, and Tony Morgan.  From outside the church are the quick-witted Seth Godin and Scott Adams.  Heck, even arch-Baptist Al Mohler has a blog (not that I particularly want to be like him, but you get the point).
  4. I have a dream.  I have this idea of a church that defines and practices ministry incarnationally rather than propositionally–i.e., where the mission is to be the hands and feet of Jesus within a specific geographical area instead of just convincing otherwise dis-associated people to believe the right thing about Jesus.  Incarnatus is intended to work out and develop that idea, with input from readers.
  5. Blogging humanizes institutions and ideas.  This article in Wired magazine just inspires me.  I think the church (and the church leader) that doesn’t blog is missing out significantly on an opportunity to re-shape public perceptions about church and about what church people are like.  More transparency about our weaknesses and more honestly about our limitations is the only way to address the chronic distrust of the church in our culture.
  6. I met a college student who gave ______ a chance because of this blog.  She loved the honesty and especially my willingness to ask hard questions about church things and church people.  Incarnatus gave her permission to show up to church with her own questions.
  7. Blogging makes me cool.  Actually, ,this is my wife Amy’s rather sarcastic answer to the question.  I have no idea what she’s talking about.

I’m sure there are more reasons that could be teased out via competent psychotherapy (I’m actually working out anger issues tied to my 7th-grade English teacher, etc.), but this will do for now.  One can argue that this blog underperforms and crosses lines, but those are issues of execution rather than purpose.  I’m still learning.  I’m still in progress.

I’m still blogging.

1 Response to “Why I Blog”


  1. 1 Michael Wender May 2, 2007 at 9:27 am

    Byron,

    Hello friend, nice to see you in the blog-o-sphere. I don’t have much time to poke around your site this morning; however, I do plan to subscribe to your RSS feed.

    Last night, I went live with a “soft” launch of the new Fellowship Church website. In the site’s admin, it provides a list of incoming links and I followed the link that led me to your blog. Therefore, this interaction falls under point #7 in your post (i.e. blogging makes you cool 🙂 ).

    Many blessings to you and your family. God bless, and I’ll type at you later.


Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet….

Recent Comments

Jason on Reliving, part 2
Jakob Aas Thomas 10t… on The Smartboard
Tina R. Cruz on Reliving, part 2
sally on Reliving, part 2
Tim Jones on Rob Bell, Heaven and Hell
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

