One Good Reason to Not Try Your Church

So yesterday morning I look up the website for a church we’ve been thinking of visiting.  It’s on our end of town, in a new facility and seems to be growing and moving.  The site is very well designed with a consistent look and feel, and I’m thinking, "These guys look like they have it together.  This’ll be fun."

I click around and see that they’ve posted their "Statement of Faith," and it’s a 10-pager.  Glutton for punishment that I am, I start paging through it, seeing if something will leap from the screen and grab my attention.  The sentence that won the prize appears on page 8 buried deep in a paragraph titled "The Church:"

"Leadership in the church is male."

You know, it doesn’t really bug me that much that this is this particular church’s stance on the role of women.  In fact, I haven’t yet been part of a church that did it any differently.  But does this really need to be on the website?

A church’s website should do two things and do them well:

  1. Give inquirers enough information to enable a visit, and
  2. Give inquirers enough reasons to actually visit.

Taking positions like this on secondary issues is ok, but to include this on your church’s invitation to the community just doesn’t make sense.  No one is going to decide to visit a church because of this stance, but plenty will decide to not visit because of it.  Why not give people a chance to get to know you before you spring on them the intricacies of your theology? 

When your website is giving people reasons to not visit your church, you’d be better off without a website.

1 Response to “One Good Reason to Not Try Your Church”


  1. 1 April April 29, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    Ok, strangely enough, I was surfing the web tonight looking for a location for a church that a friend of mine recommended I visit. I was tooling around on their site when I came across a 10 page statement of faith or doctrine, or whatever they called it. This made me think of your post, so I fast forwarded to page 8 and sure enough, there it was. It just made me laugh because I came upon it in such a bizarre way.
    Anyway, I’m thinking of visiting there next week (went to 2RC today). If you guys go, I’m just curious to hear what you think. Hope to see you all soon!


Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet….

Recent Comments

Jason on Reliving, part 2
Jakob Aas Thomas 10t… on The Smartboard
Tina R. Cruz on Reliving, part 2
sally on Reliving, part 2
Tim Jones on Rob Bell, Heaven and Hell
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

