Back at WHS

Most of you know that I took on the West High choir job this past January, but you may not know that it was technically a temporary position, i.e., I was officially out of a job at the end of the term.  It’s one of those strange human resource distinctions that seem to go along with government work–“Congratulations!  You’re hired through May, at which time you may apply for the job again.”

It actually does make some sense, protecting the tenured folks, giving them an opportunity to make a move to a new school and a new position if they choose.  I see the point, but it made things a little weird for a while–would I have a job this next fall?  Did I do a good enough job to earn the confidence of my supervisor?  Will he recommend me for the position or interview a bank of other candidates?

I got the call Thursday evening.  I’m back at West, and as far as I know, I’ll be there for the next 20 years.

And I’m genuinely happy.  Really.  I can’t wait to build a program with which the community identifies, that students and parents want to be in, that blesses people, makes them smile, and most importantly, feeds their souls.

Go Rebs!

0 Responses to “Back at WHS”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet….

Recent Comments

Jason on Reliving, part 2
Jakob Aas Thomas 10t… on The Smartboard
Tina R. Cruz on Reliving, part 2
sally on Reliving, part 2
Tim Jones on Rob Bell, Heaven and Hell
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

