Random stuff

Google Reader won’t read the WordPress media tags for my blog.  At all.  Just pretends it’s not there.  Bloglines reads them, Feedburner reads them, but Google Reader doesn’t.  I can’t decide who’s ticking me off more–WordPress for not allowing legit media embedding or Google Reader for not recognizing media tags that obviously can be read by other readers.

Vacations are one thing, retreats are another.  I had one, but I could really use another.

JP’s been enjoying Disney’s The Emporer’s New Groove, which has a special place in my heart for some reason.  I love laughing with my boys.

I’ve been reading Execution: The Discipline of Getting Things Done by Larry Bossidy and Ram Charan.  Great (and sobering) quote:

Without execution, the breakthrough thinking breaks down, learning adds no value, people don’t meet their stretch goals, and the revolution stops dead in its tracks.  What you get is change for the worse, because failure drains the energy from your organization.  Repeated failure destroys it.

Our family’s been to two Zaxby’s now, and neither of them had a baby changing station in the men’s bathroom.  The first one didn’t even have one in the ladies’ room.  If the chicken were really that good, we might put up with it….

2 Responses to “Random stuff”


  1. 1 amy c July 6, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    so does the special place in your heart for the Emperor’s New Groove have anything to do with you regaining your “manhood” in putt-putt? The Emperor have a new groove and byron has a new groove in putt-putt!! Just wondering out loud.

  2. 2 Rachelle August 24, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Hey – have you looked at Orthodoxy? While I was in Russia on a “mission trip”, I found the Orthodox churches had a beauty and holiness beyond anything I had seen. I was very spiritually drawn and could not figure out why in the world we were trying to “convert” the orthodox. I came back to the states and studied the “original” church and was shocked that it was Orthodoxy. I couldn’t go back to westernized churches after experiencing an Easter in an Orthodox church. It’s amazing – the hymns, the scriptures sung… the tradition! Good tradition!!! Anyway – it’s the church before the Catholic church. There is now the Orthodox Church of American (American culture vs. Greek/Russian/etc.). Here’s the website: http://www.oca.org/OCIndex.asp?SID=2. My kids and I have been Orthodox for nearly two years now.
    Blessings to you and your family!


Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet….

Recent Comments

Jason on Reliving, part 2
Jakob Aas Thomas 10t… on The Smartboard
Tina R. Cruz on Reliving, part 2
sally on Reliving, part 2
Tim Jones on Rob Bell, Heaven and Hell
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

