Catholics and Beauty

Last Thursday at the beach The Climber and I took a walk while the rest of the crew went to a museum.  Here we are at the end of the walk:

Me and The Climber

Me and The Climber

There’s a church down the road from our condo, and we headed over there to walk through and see what we could see.  It’s a Catholic church (Holy Family Catholic) that sits between an Episcopal church and a Methodist church.  It was a great visit.

I never noticed it before, but when I want to be in a beautiful worship space, it’s Catholic churches that draw me.  The Catholics may have some things wrong and sideways, but they get the beauty thing better than anyone else.  They sure can make a place feel set apart and holy.  I was surprised at how it moved me.

Why is that?  What happened when Protestants walked away from Catholicism that left us with a stunted appreciation for and commitment to beauty and art?  Is it our love of text, of letters and words?  Is it simply that we needed to differentiate ourselves from them?

It occurred to me that I might eventually end up–get ready–catholic.  I don’t agree with all the stuff Catholics believe, but that’s becoming more and more true about my current church, too.  And if you follow my taking-the-upstream-path-through-history logic in Staying Put to its ultimate conclusion, it makes sense…

Funny note–the Catholics also have a sense of humor.  Here’s what the sign by the sanctuary door said:

Please do not leave until the end of the Mass.  –God.

I can so work with that!

2 Responses to “Catholics and Beauty”


  1. 1 Kristine July 11, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    I am catholic – and just happened to stumble on your blog while googling for smartboard help – i will pray for you and your potential conversion – it is refreshing that you are so open minded and it sounds like your heart is open and God is talking to you – feelings like that can’t be ignored 🙂

  2. 2 Rachelle August 24, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    I put my comment under the wrong heading – my comments are at the end of my word press. Anyway, look under “Random” for my comments related to this posting.


Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet….

Recent Comments

Jason on Reliving, part 2
Jakob Aas Thomas 10t… on The Smartboard
Tina R. Cruz on Reliving, part 2
sally on Reliving, part 2
Tim Jones on Rob Bell, Heaven and Hell
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

