Back in the saddle again, if only for one Sunday

I didn’t mention it at the time (or since), but Greg asked me back in Novemberish to fill in for him in Powell Church’s contemporary service.  He needed to be in Taiwan (check the link for details on his blog) and would need coverage Dec 28 and Jan 4.  I took the Jan 4 slot.

And it went well (discounting a broken string, but that’s how it goes).  I had dreaded the experience because it would 1) mean a tough morning doing the contemporary and traditional services, and 2) I hadn’t led worship with a band doing contemporary-style music in a long time, and wasn’t sure if I was up to it.

The surprise came on Saturday night as we were working through the opener “Seasons of Love” and I looked at my long-time friend Amy at the piano and said, “Dang, it–I miss this.”  There’s something about running a band rehearsal, feeling our way through a worship set that just thrills and energizes me, and I’d forgotten how that felt.  It was a good experience, and I’m sure to miss it.

Here’s the set (I’m covering for Greg, so I ought to follow through Greg-style, no?):

  • Opener:  “Seasons of Love” (from Rent)
  • All Creatures of Our God and King (Davis arrangement)
  • Everyday (Hillsong)
  • Love the Lord (Lincoln Brewster)
  • Enough (Tomlin)
  • Closer/Communion:  Take My Life and Let It Be

I especially loved having folks who attend both services come up after the contemporary service with puzzled looks on their faces, saying, “I had no idea you could do both!”  

Who knew?

1 Response to “Back in the saddle again, if only for one Sunday”


  1. 1 Dean January 9, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Bad me for not keeping up with your blog! I missed it. I’ll do a better job of keeping up. BTW I need to get you out to the studio so we can record that re-write of the hymn to the Walking in Memphis tune. Let me know when you have some time.


Leave a Reply

Tweet, tweet….

Recent Comments

Jason on Reliving, part 2
Jakob Aas Thomas 10t… on The Smartboard
Tina R. Cruz on Reliving, part 2
sally on Reliving, part 2
Tim Jones on Rob Bell, Heaven and Hell
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

